Krissy Breece Photography

Please welcome Krissy Breece of Krissy Breece Photography to our blog!

5

Tell us a little about you and what got you into photography…

I am a mom to two crazy kids & a wife to an amazing husband that believes in me more than I do sometimes.

I have always been attracted to all kinds of art, but it wasn’t until college that I found photography (thank goodness because I was failing miserably as a business major!)  I had big plans to graduate and work for a magazine, but that all changed when my precious baby girl, Makaila arrived. Up until that point I was an assistant manager in a generic portrait studio in a local mall and while I loved going to work each day, I have never felt so creatively blocked in my life. I was lucky enough to not have to return to work after my future muse arrived and slowly began capturing Miss Makaila’s daily accomplishments. Like a lot of mothers turned photographers, my inspiration came from my baby girl’s curiosity for the world and excitement for life. I graduated college & realized that my priorities and goals had changed. I slowly had more and more friends & family ask me to take some pictures for them. It wasn’t until about two years ago when my husband’s job relocated us from New Jersey to New England that I decided to make a career out of my passion. I bounced the idea off my husband (with a lot of hesitation) & was relieved that he was nothing but supportive.

Two cameras and another child later here I am, living my dream. I love capturing family dynamics & children in their own element. I crave bright, natural light & colors. I have learned that I tend to like my pictures a bit overexposed and soft, mostly because I think it gives a magical feel to them. My main goal is to keep improving. I know I have come a long way in the last two years and an even a longer way since college. I tend to learn more about myself each time I take out my camera. Luckily as mother there are always going to be moments to capture & memories to make so I will always be practicing & improving. I am just so blessed I found the one thing (other than being a mother & wife) that makes me truly happy & fulfilled.

6

What’s your favorite thing to photograph?

That would absolutely be my children, but any children at that. They have such natural expressions… whether it is happy or sad- you can’t fake their emotions. I love everything about a child in their own element, doing their own thing.

7

Which photographer are you most inspired by right now.. who did you stalk this morning?

My new inspiration is Kimberly Walla Photography.  I absolutely LOVE her images. They are beautiful, heartfelt & totally have that light & airy style I strive for and love.

8

What’s the number one piece of advice to a photographer or any level?

To be true to yourself and your art. Photography is a huge community and there are a lot of trendy techniques to try and experiment with, but you want your art to represent you. I tell myself this every day because it is so easy to get wrapped up into what other photographers are doing. A great picture doesn’t have to be perfect, it just needs to make you feel something. And for me as a photographer, that will always be enough!

10

Krissy Breece Photography / http://www.krissybreecephotography.com

Thank you so much Krissy! ~ Ellie

 

Leave a comment